Sing to the Lord…

on

How many times have I read the phrase “Sing to the Lord a new song?” I even sang it in Japanese as a child, “Atarashii utao…” For some reason just now the word new really stuck with me when I read Psalm 98:1.


I have come so far in my journey as a worshipper. I’ve struggled with “music as worship” my whole life. It felt empty and fake for so long to me. I wondered why I was even at church if my heart wasn’t in what my mouth was singing. I judged the people on stage because of the struggle in my own heart. It wasn’t until coming to the States that I had a new experience. I think part of it was just not knowing anyone and having a new freedom to worship with the music. This was a small church that just did music really simply but really well. It invited me into God’s Presence and I brought all of my adoration and thoughts into the songs. This was very new for me. I lost myself in God’s Presence and started to really look forward to the intimacy I experienced with God there. Since then, we’ve transitioned to a different church with a very different music set. But instead of going backward, I think I’ve gone forward even more in maturity and understanding of worshipping God through music. In the first church, it was about the lyrics, but a lot about the music and the whole experience. At this new church, we sing really deep, theological lyrics that make me think about my faith and my desire to honor and magnify Christ.

we need to keep our worship fresh and alive, just like we keep a romance fresh by trying to new things and going new places.

Maybe what struck me about the word new was thinking about when I learn a new song at church (which is often- I am very unfamiliar with the selection) and I am presented with these rich, meaty thoughts to chew on in the form of a song. My heart is struck by truths in a new way and God is glorified. So I guess my thoughts about the Psalmist saying, “sing to the Lord a new song,” is that we need to keep our worship fresh and alive, just like we keep a romance fresh by trying to new things and going new places.


The word “victory” is repeated several times in the next few verses. As those living after the resurrection, this is even more meaningful. We have victory because of the cross. Even in the darkest hour, of temptation and attack, the helmet of salvation that Paul talks about in Ephesians reminds us of the ultimate victory that no one can take away if we are hidden in Christ. These verses remind us of God’s omnipotence. We don’t need to be afraid or overwhelmed by what seems powerful in the world today: politics, oppression, abortion, persecution, etc. The biggest power on earth looks like a grasshopper compared to our powerful God (Isaiah 40). I think this verse is interesting: “the ends of the earth have seen the victory of our God.” My prayer is that the ends of the earth will see that there is only One who has the victory, and His name is Jesus. 

We are commanded to praise the Lord, but we are commanded to do so joyfully! You can’t fake joy, especially with the one who knows our hearts. So how do we follow this commandment? We must have a reason for being joyful. Let’s look back and see what He has done for us. Remember that we’ve been rescued. How good it feels that He is for us and not against us! This Psalm was written during a time of kings, but in v 6 we are reminded who the true King is. 


So I included verses 7-9 in this because the sentence just flows from talking about creation worshipping the Creator to His coming to judge. I think that is very interesting. Is there a connection between creation worshipping God (a.k.a. doing exactly what he designed it to do) and His coming to judge people? Creation is celebrating God’s return to make everything new and turn it back to right again. He is coming to judge righteously and with equity. 


So, what does this Psalm say to us about God?He has done marvelous things. Oh, how we must remember the marvelous things He has done in His Word and the metanarrative of the Bible, but also in our own stories and the stories of those around us or those who went before us. (Ah, how I love reading a good biography like “The Hiding Place” to awaken my wonder!)
He is victorious and has given us victory over sin and death because of Jesus Christ!He is the true King and we owe him our allegiance. He IS coming to judge the world, and will judge with righteousness and equity. If you are God’s enemy- be afraid. 


What does this Psalm say about us? That we were made to worship. Our purpose is to give him glory. That in Christ, we are more than conquerers. Do not despair or be discouraged. 


Next steps? I want to spend time remembering the amazing things God has done in my own life. I want to be prepared to share these things with skeptical or questioning friends and neighbors so I can share the reason for my JOY. I want to experience more JOY by dwelling on what God has done, thanking Him and being with Him. I want to find new/ go back to forgotten… ways to worship Him and keep my adoration of Him fresh and alive. I need to live with His coming in mind. This reminds me of the parable of the 10 virgins in Matthew 25. We need to always be ready and not get distracted by the world. 


Oh, did you watch the new Pilgrim’s Progress film? I had many favorite parts but one that really convicted and stuck with me was when Christian & Faithful passed through Vanity Fair. They told the people there that they did not need or want anything that was sold there, and the things they did want (peace, joy, love) they could not obtain there. Because of those words, a man named Hopeful is deeply convicted that there is more to life than what is in Vanity Fair, and he escapes with Christian.

Leave a comment